The 2011 awards ceremony took place on 23rd February in central London. Jeremy Harmer was the guest presenter for the evening. Sponsored by Cambridge ESOL, awards were given in four categories; The UK Award for Innovation, The Cambridge ESOL International Award for Innovation, The Macmillan Education Award for Innovative Writing and, new for 2011, The Lifetime Achievement Award for English Language Teaching.

Brian Abbs and Ingrid Freebairn were awarded the British Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in English Language Teaching for their joint contribution to ELT through their ground-breaking textbook series. The Abbs & Freebairn textbooks, used by a generation and more of English language teachers, brought new pedagogical principles to ELT and enabled major advances in classroom methodology and the communicative success of learners through their innovative design and content.

United International College (UIC), a London-based language school, triumphed in the UK Award for Innovation category with their entry Communication Station. Described as an ‘organised language learning experience’, this resource allows students to learn English by making and broadcasting a radio programme.

The BBC joined UIC as winners in the UK category, with two web-based learning resources. BBCe! is an Arabic and English bilingual conversation broadcast on FM radio in Egypt and across the Arab World. Rinku’s World is a multi-platform, English language teaching concept for Bangladeshi learners, with content accessible via prime-time TV broadcasts, mobile phone, print and the web.

ABAX ELT, based in Japan, won the Cambridge ESOL International Award for Innovation for their book Fiction in Action: Whodunit, a reading text for low to intermediate level English language learners. The book focuses on reading within one genre—the detective story—familiarising students with the language, style and literary conventions associated with this form of story.

In its second year, the Macmillan Education Award for Innovative Writing recognises the talents of aspiring ELT authors who have not yet been published. Simona Petrescu, from Romania, won the award with her proposal for a Professional English for Human Resources (HR) course in which the structure mirrors the flow of the HR process.

See photos of the ceremony

The 2011 nominees were:


Mary Glasgow – Mary Glasgow Plus – Video (online video series)
Sarah Bromley
United International College – Communication Station (English course)
David Wilkins, Ben Glynne, Dan Humm Soriano
Macmillan Education – Global (Coursebook, eWorkbook, Teacher’s Book, Class Audio CD, Interactive Whiteboard software)
Lindsay Clanfield
Express Publishing – Spark Interactive eBook (ebook) 
Virginia Evans, Jenny Dooley
Delta Publishing – Teaching Online (book)
Nicky Hockly, Lindsay Clandfield, Mike Burghall
Oxford University Press – (website)
Ed Hackett, Alexandra Miller, Gail Pasque, Daniel Calvert
Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) – PDA: Introduction to Tutoring ESOL Tutor Support Materials (Training pack with integrated DVD resource)
Jennifer MacDougall, Gillian Scott, Pauline Timoney, Kenneth MacDougall, Alec Edwards, Neil McMillan
English360 – English360 (website)
Cleve Miller, Valentina Dodge, Byron Russell
BBC Learning English – Rinku’s World (TV and mobile series)
Neil Edgeller, Senjuti Masud, Sharif Sadique, SW Multi-media animation & design team
Kaplan  International Colleges – Live Online (Online English courses)
Anna Stanton, Richard Pinner, Sean Mcguinness, Andrew Garvey, Evan Schiff, Isabel Ribeiro, Amanda Kennard
BBC Learning English – BBCe! (weekly 60 min FM RADIO show in English and Arabic with accompanying website, podcast and fans’ facebook group)
Sean Keegan, Abeer Hassan, Abigail Wincott, Karim Kouchouk, Alice Castle, Rob Carter
Independent entry – FunSongs (website)
Charles Goodger
LinguaTV GmbH – Business English by LinguaTV (website, online video course)
Philip Gienandt, Sandra Gasber, M. Winter, Melissa Maldonado
Helbling Languages GmbH – Seeds of Confidence (book, CD-Rom)
Veronica de Andrés, Jane Arnold
Lancelot SchoolTM GmbH – Virtual Round Table Conference (online conference for language teachers on language learning with technology)
Heike Philp, Shelley Terrell, Berni Wall
ABAX ELT – Fiction in Action: Whodunit (book, audio CD)
Adam Gray, Marcos Benevides
TESOL, Inc – Integrating Language and Content (book)
Dr. Susan Barduhn, Carol Edwards, Jon Nordmeyer
Independent entry – LEVEL4 BUST (aeronautic vocabulary board game)
James Grant
Lee-Ann Archer, UK
Marta Braylan and Dolores Bereterbide, Argentina
Rigoberto Castillo, Colombia
Irina Kozhukhariova, Russia
Gulnissa Makhanova, Kazakhstan
Simona Petrescu, Romania